ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Intro & TS-440S/AT & TS-440SAT Restorations

Feb 15th 2018, 05:36

km6oyh

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Howdy All,

Ok..I'm newbie. I studied for the novice class when I was around 13yro, but things in the homeworld, mom was being visited by greys, but no one understood what was happening, things became weird at home, and it interfered with my code studies, I was distracted. 50 years later, I passed the Technician class test in December and next weekend I'm taking the General class test. I am back to studying dit dah dit dah, it calls to me. As for repeaters I can see the utility, but to exclusively use them? Might as well use a cell-phone, what's the adventure in that?

So, I got my ticket. While I do have a lab, its mainly comprised of logic-analyzers, cpu emulators, function generators, development systems, soldering irons and one really big, old, sweet, 100Hz to 1.7GHz HP spectrum analyzer. Two peices, 100Lbs. I had never actually seen such a unit until I was hired by major defense contractor to debug a rackmount prototype control-segment GPS measurement receiver. One small area of the receiver HW was actually a 'radio', all the remaining stuff was computers, wires, oscillators, digital correllators, POL power supplies. So I got my footsies wet in microwaves and miniature SMA, SMC plumbing. It was fascinating work. We had in the lab two $300k space-vehicle constellation simulators and whole bunch of spectrum analyzers. I grew to really appreciate those magnificant HP tools. Now what did those managers rename that company? Keysight, hah hah. H & P would be turning over in their graves if they knew.